E.W.Korngold Web site

E.W.Korngold Forums

New recording of orchestral works by Naxos

Reviews,comments,suggestions on Korngold's discography

Moderator: fireatheart

New recording of orchestral works by Naxos

Postby Rathbone » Sat May 02, 2009 7:58 am

A new recording! Released by Naxos June 2009
Violin Concerto
Schauspiel Overture
Much Ado About Nothing Suite
Mineria Symphony, Prieto
Quint, P.
Rathbone
Regular visitor
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:43 am

Postby Peter Timoney » Fri May 22, 2009 10:15 pm

Yes, looking forward to it. However, I was surprised to go into my CD store today and find another recording of the Korngold Violin Concerto, played by Nikolaj Znaider with the Vienna Philharmonic, conducted by Valery Gergiev. It is coupled with the Brahms concerto. I never knew that was coming. Obviously I don't have good enough antennae for new Korngold recordings.

Peter
Peter Timoney
Regular visitor
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Postby tjguitar » Tue May 26, 2009 3:49 am

Can't wait to hear the Quint recording of the concerto. Loved his disc of Rozsa solo violin works.


June 30th release date:


http://www.amazon.com/Korngold-Concerto ... B0027DQHI2
tjguitar
Regular visitor
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:57 am

New recordings of orchestral works

Postby Bernd.O.Rachold » Thu May 28, 2009 1:34 pm

Gentlemen, do not overlook Korngolds violin-sonata op. 6 plus -concerto op. 35 performed by Paul Waltman and the Korngoldian Bengt Forsberg, Swedish Radio S.O. under the baton of David Björkman on Daphne 1032.
www.daphne.se
Bernd.O.Rachold
Regular visitor
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 7:33 pm

Postby sdtom » Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:03 pm

I'm almost finished with my review of the Naxos release. I'm very pleased with it.
Thomas
sdtom
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:53 pm

Postby sdtom » Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:28 pm

http://sdtom.wordpress.com/2009/07/09/v ... 5korngold/

For anyone who is interested
Thomas :)
sdtom
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:53 pm


Return to Recordings (CD's, DVD's)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron