Which recording of Die Tote Stadt should I buy?

Reviews,comments,suggestions on Korngold's discography

Moderator: fireatheart

Anna

Which recording of Die Tote Stadt should I buy?

Post by Anna » Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:30 pm

Hi! I'm hoping to get some recommendations from you about which recording of Die Tote Stadt to buy...
I heard a small excerpt on The Big Lebowski soundtrack - "Gluck Das Mir Verblieb" performed by Ilona Steingruber, Anton Dermota and the Austrian State Radio Orchestra, courtesy of Cambria Master Recording, and it was the most beautiful thing I've heard!
I haven't heard any Korngold other than this excerpt, so I am just beginning my aquaintance with him as a composer...
I have looked for the recording from Cambria, but I can't find the whole opera with these performers. Does anyone know if there is a complete recording with Ilona Steingruber, Anton Dermota and the Austrian State Radio Orchestra available to buy? Or would you recommend a different recording altogether?!
Many thanks in advance for your insights and your help!
Anna
Rathbone
Regular visitor

Post by Rathbone » Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:47 pm

Hi Anna, I don't know, whether a recording of the whole opera it's available. I believe, you can find the song on following disc:

From the Operas by Erich Wolfgang Korngold.
Published by Cambria.

Perhaps- the disc ist deleted- but you could find it to order at any side of amazon!

Another chance: call via internet the orf-audioservice. It's a service from the austrian broadcasting company where you can order recordings on cd from their archive. Maybe they have the whole recording in ther archive. Last year I was very succesful with the recording of "Die stumme Serenade". But attention- its not cheap! I hope, that this informations are helpful.
Rathbone
Regular visitor

Post by Rathbone » Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:33 am

I think, you wouldn't go wrong if you choose the recording with Erich Leinsdorf (the first!).
Anna